Posts tagged ‘Tour de Luxembourg 2009’

Tour de Luxembourg 2009: Stage 2. Napolitano wins!!!

Danilo napolitano wins in Luxembourg

Danilo napolitano wins in Luxembourg

Danilo Napolitano (Team Katusha) won the opening 157-kilometre road stage of the Tour of Luxembourg on Thursday. The Italian out-sprinted Steven Caethoven (Agritubel) and Tom Veelers (Skil-Shimano) in the bunch gallop to the finish in Mondorf-les-Bains.

“It was a nervous and very fast stage,” said Napolitano. “Astana kept the pace high to catch the escapees. In the sprint my teammates Horrach, Markov and Mikhailov brought me to the front and then I took the wheel of CSF Group-Navigare’s Dall’Antonia. He started his sprint at 200 metres to go which may have been a little bit early because of the headwind.”

Switzerland’s Grégory Rast (Astana), who won Wednesday’s prologue, remained in the race lead by two seconds over Jonathan Hivert (Skil-Shimano) and four seconds ahead of Romain Feillu (Agritubel).

The teams of the sprinters then kept the race together until the finish line for their field sprint to decide stage honours


1 Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Team Katusha                 3.48.29  (41.333 km/h)
2 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Agritubel
3 Tom Veelers (Ned) Skil - Shimano
4 Romain Feillu (Fra) Agritubel
5 Tiziano Dall'antonia (Ita) CSF Group - Navigare
6 Guillaume Blot (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne
7 Ruben Perez Moreno (Spa) Euskatel - Euskadi
8 Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
9 Cyrille Heymans (Lux) Continental Team Differdange
10 Christian Poos (Lux) Continental Team Differdange

June 4, 2009 at 17:35 Leave a comment

Tour de Luxembourg 2009: Katusha is in

In 2005 Laszlo Bodrogi won “Tour de Luxembourg”.

Star riders of the event will of course be Fränk and Andy Schleck, leading a strong Saxo Bank squad also including Fabian Cancellara and Stuart O’Grady. Another big name riding the race won last year by Joost Posthuma (Rabobank) is Andreas Klöden (Astana).

The event will see a total of 15 teams take the start: Astana, Bbox Bouygues, Cofidis, Euskaltel, Katusha, Saxo Bank, Agritubel, Barloworld, CSF, ISD, Landbouwkrediet, Skil, Vacansoleil, Vorarlberg and CT Differdange.

The stages outline as follows:

Prologue – June 3: Luxembourg (2.7 km)
Stage 1 – June 4: Luxembourg – Mondorf-les-Bains (157 km)
Stage 2 – June 5: Schifflange – Differdange (187 km)
Stage 3 – June 6: Wiltz – Diekirch (185 km)
Stage 4 – June 7: Mersch – Luxembourg (160 km)

June 2, 2009 at 14:07 Leave a comment


July 2018
« Nov