Prijs Vlaanderen 2009: Pipo Pozzato – the winner

March 28, 2009 at 22:01 Leave a comment

Filippo Pozzato

Filippo Pozzato wins

Filippo Pozzato sprinted to his first win in over a year at the E3 Prijs Saturday in Harelbeke, Belgium. The Italian of team Katusha bettered home favourite Tom Boonen (Quick Step) and Kazakh Maxim Iglinsky (Astana) after 208 kilometres of racing. “I was able to get Boonen up front for the finale, that was important,” said Pozzato. “He is faster than I am, for sure, but in a hard course I have a chance.” Boonen formed the winning move of three on the Knokteberg climb with 25 kilometres remaining. Pozzato immediately reacted to his former teammate and Iglinsky crossed the slight gap afterwards. The trio battled a chase behind from Rabobank and Columbia Highroad. “We got up to 50 seconds, and that allowed us time to fight for the sprint,” said Pozzato. The three men entered the final two kilometres with 54 seconds. Pozzato led Boonen and Iglinsky into the final kilometre in an increasing cold Harelbeke (4°C). He succeeded in slowing enough to force Boonen to the front at the final left hand turn with 500 metres to go. Pozzato opened up the sprint on Boonen’s left as they traveled down the right side of the road into a headwind. They dueled to the line for a tight sprint and Iglinsky remained in third. “I am happy, I am sorry for him because we are great friends,” Pozzato said. “Iglinsky was a problem for me because if I was alone with Pozzato then I know what to do to win,” said Boonen. “Pozzato moved onto my rear wheel. I was on the front and that was a mistake.” Thor Hushovd (Cervélo TestTeam) led home a group of six at 45 seconds for fourth. Boonen’s teammates finished fifth and sixth, Sylvain Chavanel and Stijn Devolder. Nick Nuyens (Rabobank), George Hincapie (Columbia-Highroad) and Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) took spots seven to nine. “I was having problems with my bike,” said Hincapie to Cyclingnews. “On all the cobblestones it was just skipping so I could never really go with the attacks and I had to keep coming back. …Despite the bike problems, I am good shape and I was with the best guys the whole race.”

Entry filed under: Races. Tags: , .

Coppi e Bartali 2009: Stage 1a. Napolitano the best Middelkerke – Zottegem 2009:Stage 1. Pozzato again

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

