Archive for February, 2009

Volta ao Algarve 2009: Stage 5. Colom 6th in the GC

Germany’s Heinrich Haussler won the the final stage of Portugal’s Volta ao Algarve Sunday in Portimão. The Cervélo TestTeam rider also was the winner of stage one. Belgians Greg Van Avermaet (Silence-Lotto) and Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step) finished second and third.

Alberto Contador of team Astana finished first in the general classification. The Spaniard, winner of all three of cycling’s Grand Tours, took the lead of the race after he won yesterday’s time trial.

It was Contador’s first race of the season. He is building for a repeat win in the Tour de France.

Final general classification

1 Alberto Contador (Spa) Astana                                      19.04.22
2 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Quick Step                                      1.06
3 Ruben Plaza (Spa) Liberty Seguros                                      1.07
4 Tiago Machado (Por) Madeinox Boavista                                  1.08
5 Andreas Klöden (Ger) Astana                                            1.09
6 Toni Colom (Spa) Team Katusha                                          1.23

February 22, 2009 at 21:22 1 comment

Volta ao Algarve 2009: Stage 3. Colom takes the stage

Colom first

Colom first

Team Astana’s Alberto Contador put on an impressive show Sunday in

Portugal’s Volta ao Algarve stage three finish up the Alto do Malhão. The triple Grand Tour winner finished second in a tight battle with ex-teammate and close friend Antonio Colom of team Katusha.


February 20, 2009 at 21:15 Leave a comment

Volta ao Algarve 2009: Stage 1

Heinrich Haussler added another victory to his Cervelo Test Team’s count, after sprinting to victory on the Volta ao Algarve’s stage to Olhão. The victory came off the back of his teammate Thor Hushovd winning the Tour of California’s Stage 3 one day ealier.

Dutch rider Dennis Van Winden (Rabobank Continental) took second place from Spain’s Koldo Fernandez (Euskaltel – Euskadi). The top 10 featured some big names including Hans Dekkers (Garmin – Slipstream), Bernhard Eisel (Team Columbia – Highroad) and Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step).

February 18, 2009 at 21:11 Leave a comment

Mallorca Challenge 2009: Colom first in overall

Colom holds Mallorca trophey

Colom holds Mallorca trophey

Spaniard Antonio Colom of Team Katusha kept the lead to win the final general classification. It was Colom’s second overall victory at the Challenge Mallorca, having one once previously in 2004. Jérôme Pineau (Quick Step), Edvald Boasson Hagen (Columbia-Highroad) and Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step), respectively, finished at 35 seconds behind Colom in general classification.

Gerald Ciolek of Team Milram won the Trofeo Calvia on the final day of the Challenge Mallorca. The German, 22, out-sprinted Team Columbia-Highroad duo Edvald Boasson Hagen and Marcel Sieberg after 147.6 kilometres of racing. It was the team’s first win of 2009.


February 12, 2009 at 20:15 3 comments

Mallorca Challenge 2009: Stage 4. Colom takes race and GC lead

Antonio Colom in Mallorca

Antonio Colom in Mallorca

Spaniard Antonio Colom (Team Katusha) won the penultimate stage of the Mallorca Challenge on Wednesday and charged into the overall lead.

Colom won the 143.3km stage around Bunyola in 3:54:49, 56 minutes ahead of Edvald Boasson (Team Columbia-High Road) and Jérôme Pineau (Quick Step).

Colom now leads Pineau by 41 seconds going into the finale, a 147.6km leg from Magaluf to Palmanova, with Boasson third in the same time.


1 Antonio Colom (Spa) Katusha                  3.05.49
2 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Columbia - HR    0.56
3 Jérôme Pineau (Fra) Quick Step
4 Sylvian Chavanel (Fra) Quick Step
5 Tony Martin (Ger) Team Columbia - Highroad

February 11, 2009 at 16:04 Leave a comment

Mallorca Challenge 2009: Stage 2. McEwen first!!!

Another day, another win for Katusha Cycling Team. This time it was the australian mega-sprinter Robbie McEwen to win the stage. On the yesterday’s finish he offered the line to his mate Gert Steegmans. Today, they have changed their places.

The race was lead by a breakaway group: José Antonio Carrasco Ramírez (Spa – Andalucia-Cajasur), Romain Sicard (Fra – Orbea) and Mikel Ilundain (Spa – Orbea) lead the pack by under two minutes with about 50k left.

The chase, driven by  Steegmans‘ and McEwen‘s Team Katusha domestiques, began for real, the two Spaniards got rapidly swallowed up by the peloton and the Fab Four on the front saw their advantage become slimmer and slimmer, until the peloton got back as one at km.

At the finish we have seen once more a perfect dominance by Katusha.

Monday’s leg at the Volta a Mallorca is a 176.5-kilometre effort both starting and finishing at Cala Millor town, with two small ascents coming in the first half and one last minor difficulty about 30 kilometres from the finish.

Stage 2

Mallorca Challenge 2009: Stage 2

February 9, 2009 at 16:03 Leave a comment

Trofeo Mallorca 2009: Double win for Katusha

Gert Steegmans today's winner

Gert Steegmans today's winner

February 8: Trofeo Mallorca, 116km

A perfect day – a perfect win.

Katusha went one-two in the opening leg of the Mallorca Challenge with Gert Steegmans flying across the line ahead of teammate Robbie McEwen. Caisse d’Epargne sprinter José Joaquin Rojas came through third.

The 116km circuit course in Palma de Mallorca officially opened the 2009 Spanish calendar and the Russian-sponsored Katusha had its way against an international field.

February 8, 2009 at 19:54 Leave a comment

Older Posts


February 2009
« Jan   Mar »